Cooking Primer: Linguine Cacio e Pepe

Tonight I am babysitting for my parents’ best friends while they are at game 2 of the Stanley Cup playoffs (GO BLACKHAWKS!). Being a vegetarian sometimes eating at other people’s homes can be tricky. Luckily the average family always seems to have the ingredients to make the delicious and simple dish Cacio e Pepe which literally translates to Cheese and Pepper. I personally just eyeball the ingredient proportions, but I originally learned the basics steps from world famous chef Mario Batali’s recipe, which I will post a link to at the end.

Ingredients:

  • Kosher salt
  • Fresh cracked pepper
  • Olive oil
  • Butter or margarine
  • Your choice of long thin pasta (I used linguine)
  • Grated or shredded parmigiano-reggiano

Cooking Instructions:

1. Boil a pot of water with a pinch of salt

2. While waiting for the water to boil crank the pepper grinder about 3 or 4 times over a pan and toast the pepper over medium heat for about 30 seconds

3. Add a splash of olive oil and 2 spoonfuls of butter

4. Once butter has melted remove from heat

IMG_0070

5. Once water has boiled add pasta; cook until desired texture (as I was not used to using fresh pasta I probably cooked mine a little too long)

6. Once pasta is ready add a splash of the water from pot to pepper, oil, butter mixture

7. Drain pasta

8. Add pasta to sauce, stir together over medium heat until all noodles are covered in sauce

IMG_0074

9. Add about a handful of the cheese and mix as it melts

10. Plate the pasta, add more cheese for taste

IMG_0077

11. Enjoy! Most would probably spruce this dish up with a glass of wine, but as I am still underaged and a responsabile babysitter I stuck to ice water flavored with a splash of lemon juice.

IMG_0078

While I love my two dogs more than life itself (I am sure this blog will see plenty of pictures of both Murphy and Millie) I couldn’t help but snap a few pictures of our friends’ adorable little pup

IMG_0079

Kiki

IMG_0081

Mario Batali’s Spaghetti Cacio e Pepe: http://beta.abc.go.com/shows/the-chew/recipes/Spaghetti-Cacio-Pepe-Mario-Batali

xo Katie

Leave a Reply

